Skip to main content
This site is under construction. Thank you for your patience.
Diary Transcription:

microfilm: begin page 1185

Saturday, July 9, 1932
G 2210
G 2210 A: Down 19.5 meters, sand, salat, rakash.

Sunday, July 10, 1932
G 2210
G 2210 A: Down 19.9 meters, sand, salat, rakash.

Monday, July 11, 1932
G 2210
G 2210 A: Down 20.4 meters, sand, salat, rakash.

Tuesday, July 12, 1932
Day of rest.
Abdalla Ahmed el Gebel left for QUFT.

Wednesday, July 13, 1932
G 2210
G 2210 A: Down 21 meters, sand, salat, rakash.

Thursday, July 14, 1932
G 2210
G 2210 A: Down 21.6 meters, sand, salat, rakash.

Friday, July 15, 1932
G 2210
G 2210 A: Down 22 meters, sand, salat, rakash.

Saturday, July 16, 1932
G 2210
G 2210 A: Chamber T is now filled with the debris from the pit. In order to lift debris to top borrowed ropes from Sadeck.

Sunday, July 17, 1932
G 2210
G 2210 A: Down 22.45 meters, sand, salat, rakash.

Monday, July 18, 1932
G 2210
G 2210 A: Down 22.9 meters, sand, salat, rakash.

Tuesday, July 19, 1932
Day of rest.

Wednesday, July 20, 1932
G 2210
G 2210 A: Down 23.3 meters, sand, salat, rakash.

Thursday, July 21, 1932
G 2210
G 2210 A: Down 23.55 meters, sand, salat, rakash.

Friday, July 22, 1932
G 2210
G 2210 A: At 23.8 meters reached roof of either minwar or doorway.

Saturday, July 23, 1932
G 2210
G 2210 A: At 24.7 meters reached end of minwar, two blocking stones in window, lying on sin [circumflex over i] and dubsh, but not closing the aperture. Pit goes on down. Debris in pit rakash, dubsh, and salat later sand.

Sunday, July 24, 1932
Mohamedani took photographs from three-quarters up second pyramid.

Monday, July 25, 1932
Mohamedani photographed and H. Handrick measured and drew minwar.
Abdalla Ahmed el Gebel back from QUFT.

microfilm: end page 1185

Details

  • Classification
    Documentation-Expedition diary pages
  • Department
    Harvard University-Boston Museum of Fine Arts Expedition
  • Credit Line
    Harvard University–Boston Museum of Fine Arts Expedition
  • Display Page Dates
    07/09/1932 through 07/19/1932
  • Mentioned on page
    Abdalla Ahmed el-Gebel
    Hansmartin Handrick
    Mohammedani Ibrahim
  • Author
    Noel F. Wheeler, British

Tombs and Monuments 1

  • G 2210

    • Site Name Western Cemetery

Photos 1

People 4

Modern People

  • Abdalla Ahmed el-Gebel

    • Type Mentioned on page
    • Nationality & Dates
    • Remarks Guard at Giza (from Quft).
  • Hansmartin Handrick

    • Type Mentioned on page
    • Nationality & Dates
  • Mohammedani Ibrahim

    • Type Mentioned on page
    • Nationality & Dates
    • Remarks Expedition photographer.
  • Noel F. Wheeler

    • Type Author
    • Nationality & Dates British
    • Remarks Wheeler was a Lieutenant Commander in the Royal Navy according to George A. Reisner's, "A HIstory of the Giza Necropolis, Vol. I."